Plein Air Pastel Sketches?

For those who like my art, I was introduced to plein air pastel sketches this past week–and by “introduced”, I mean “forced to do it for an assignment because I usually avoid plein air sketching with a passion”.

Outdoor sketching for me usually doesn’t happen, because it’s highly problematic to stand around with your materials, trying to get a good view of a building.  I’ve done it before (the Bronx Bar painting at my store is a plein air), but vermin flying in your face can be a real distraction. I’d rather paint inside.

Oil pastels are a lot faster than guerilla painting, though, so I may try this again during the summer. If I do, you’ll see the work appear at my store.

Leave a Reply

Sugar Girls

Sweet Fashion from Sweet Girls

Lazy Designers

Not actually lazy, just busy.

Whiskey Shots

photos and words by Whiskey Monday

Bluebird's Song

an excuse for me to shop & indulge in vanity photos

